Jump to Navigation Jump to Content


Men’s and Women’s Basketball Candidates Announced for the 2018-19 Lowe’s CIAA Senior CLASS Award

January 10, 2019

Download in PDF format

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (January 10, 2019) – Nineteen CIAA men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the Lowe’s CIAA Senior CLASS Award®. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Lowe’s CIAA Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages players to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as a senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

The Lowe’s CIAA Senior CLASS Award, which focuses on men’s and women’s basketball players from the CIAA, is a division of the national Senior CLASS Award program that recognizes student-athletes in 10 NCAA Division I sports.

CIAA award candidates were nominated by their respective universities. Of those 19 student-athletes, all are in excellent academic standing at their universities with nine holding GPAs of 3.5 or greater, and five were honored with preseason conference honors for outstanding performance on the court. Each of the candidates volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

“The Lowe’s CIAA Senior CLASS Award shows the company’s commitment to the CIAA mission, which is to support and showcase our student-athletes through community, classroom, character and competition,” said CIAA Commissioner Jacqie McWilliams. “Their involvement on the campuses, culminating at the tournament, helps to recognize and celebrate the overall NCAA Division II student-athlete experience.”

Each of the men’s and women’s candidates will be recognized on-court at a home game during the season. The winners will be determined through a voting system that includes fans, CIAA basketball media and conference coaches. Fan balloting will take place from January 23 through February 20 at LowesCIAASCA.com, the award website that will contain information about each candidate and the overall program.

The male and female winner will be announced during the CIAA Tournament in Charlotte, North Carolina, and presented with the prestigious Senior CLASS Award trophy at the championship games on Saturday, March 2.

# # # #

Men’s Basketball 2018-19 Candidates

Name Position School
Tyre Gathright Guard Saint Augustine’s University
Anthony Harper Center Johnson C. Smith University
Jamel McAllister Forward Winston-Salem State University
Javen McNeill Forward Fayetteville State University
Cyonte Melvin Guard Virginia State University
Shyheid Petteway Guard Elizabeth City State University
Triston Thompson Point Guard Claflin University
Jordan Thornton Center Virginia Union University

Women’s Basketball 2018-19 Candidates

Name Position School
Peré Alexander Guard/Forward Bowie State University
Kelsee Arnold Guard Saint Augustine’s University
Jalyn Brown Guard Elizabeth City State University
Ashley Fields Guard Claflin University
Linda Galay Guard Livingstone College
Chrisanna Green Forward Virginia State University
Chinwendu Maduegbunam Center Fayetteville State University
JaKeyah McNeil Guard Johnson C. Smith University
Brionna Pate Forward Winston-Salem State University
Rejoice Spivey Guard Virginia Union University
Tahniya Sweatt Guard Shaw University

Candidate Spotlight