

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

October 16, 2008

FINALISTS ANNOUNCED FOR THE NCAA® DIVISION I MEN'S AND WOMEN'S SOCCER DIVISIONS OF THE LOWE'S SENIOR CLASS AWARD

(Kansas City, MO) – Finalists for the **Lowe's Senior CLASS Award** in the men's soccer and women's soccer divisions were announced today, launching a nationwide balloting process to determine the 2008 award winners for the nation's premier tribute to NCAA Division I collegiate seniors.

This marks the second year for both soccer divisions. An acronym for *Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School*, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages those leaders to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact on their circle of influence. This prestigious awards program was launched by Lowe's, an Official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, during the 2001-02 basketball season, added six additional sports in 2007 (including soccer), and has expanded this year to include NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision seniors.

The 2008 women's finalists are: Yael Averbuch (University of North Carolina), Stefanie Baduria (Loyola Marymount University), Lizzie Barnes (United States Naval Academy), Brittany Bock (University of Notre Dame), Jenae Gibbens (Cal State Fullerton), Candace Gonzales (Georgia State University), Kerri Hanks (University of Notre Dame), Molly Johnson (Clemson University), Christie McDonald (Duke University) and Yolanda Odenyo (Oklahoma State University).

The 2008 men's finalists are: **Matt Besler** (University of Notre Dame), **Sam Cronin** (Wake Forest University), **Dylan Curtis** (University of California Davis), **Michael Fucito** (Harvard University), **Adam Gartner** (Eastern Illinois University), **A.J. Glubzinski** (United States Military Academy), **Garret Guthrie** (University of Missouri – Kansas City), **Yohance Marshall** (University of South Florida), **Dylan Sheehan** (Brown University) and **O'Brian White** (University of Connecticut).

These 20 names (10 from each division) will be placed on the official ballot for a nationwide vote beginning October 16 and concluding November 19. Votes from coaches and media will be coupled with fan balloting to determine the recipient of the award. Fans can vote online during this time period at www.seniorclassaward.com. Winners will be announced during the 2008 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship in Cary, North Carolina, scheduled for December 5-7, and during the 2008 NCAA Division I Men's Soccer Championship in Frisco, Texas, scheduled for December 12-14.

"Lowe's is incredibly proud to announce the 2008 finalist class for men's and women's soccer," said **Bob Gfeller**, Lowe's Senior Vice President of Marketing and Advertising. "These 20 student-athletes represent all that is great about collegiate athletics. Each is to be admired for their commitment and dedication not only to soccer, but to the classroom and their community."

Finalists were selected from a list of 30 candidates in each division, based on personal qualities that define a complete student-athlete. Each finalist displays numerous accomplishments across all four award pillars: classroom, community, character, and competition.

#

ABOUT THE AWARD

An acronym for *Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School*, the Lowe's Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: classroom, community, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards that a senior season can bring. For more information, visit www.seniorclassaward.com.

ABOUT LOWE'S

With fiscal year 2007 sales of \$48.3 billion, Lowe's Companies, Inc. is a FORTUNE® 50 company that serves approximately 14 million customers a week at more than 1,525 home improvement stores in the United States and Canada. Founded in 1946 and based in Mooresville, N.C., Lowe's is the second-largest home improvement retailer in the world. For more information, visit www.Lowes.com.

ABOUT THE NCAA

The NCAA is a membership-led nonprofit association of colleges and universities committed to supporting academic and athletic opportunities for more than 400,000 student-athletes at more than 1,000 member colleges and universities. Each year, more than 54,000 student-athletes compete in NCAA championships in Divisions I, II and III sports. Visit www.ncaa.org and www

MEDIA CONTACT

Melynda Stein Premier Sports Management - Lowe's Senior CLASS Award 7450 West 130th Street; Suite 360 Overland Park, KS 66213

Phone: 913-681-6990 x17 Fax: 913-681-8864

Email: mstein@premiersportsonline.com or general info@seniorclassaward.com

http://www.premiersportsonline.com http://www.seniorclassaward.com



2008 Women's Soccer Finalists

Name	Position	School	Conference
Yael Averbuch	Midfielder	University of North Carolina	Atlantic Coast
Stefanie Baduria	Midfielder	Loyola Marymount University	West Coast
Lizzie Barnes	Goalkeeper	United States Naval Academy	Patriot
Brittany Bock	Forward/Midfielder	University of Notre Dame	Big East
Jenae Gibbens	Midfielder	Cal State Fullerton	Big West
Candace Gonzales	Defender	Georgia State University	Colonial
Kerri Hanks	Midfielder	University of Notre Dame	Big East
Molly Johnson	Defender	Clemson University	Atlantic Coast
Christie McDonald	Midfielder	Duke University	Atlantic Coast
Yolanda Odenyo	Midfielder	Oklahoma State University	Big 12

2008 Men's Soccer Finalists

Name	Position	School	Conference
Matt Besler	Defender	University of Notre Dame	Big East
Sam Cronin	Midfielder	Wake Forest University	Atlantic Coast
Dylan Curtis	Midfielder	University of California Davis	Big West
Michael Fucito	Midfielder	Harvard University	lvy
Adam Gartner	Defender	Eastern Illinois University	Missouri Valley
A.J. Glubzinski	Goalkeeper	United States Military Academy	Patriot
Garret Guthrie	Defender	University of Missouri - Kansas City	The Summit League
Yohance Marshall	Defender	University of South Florida	Big East
Dylan Sheehan	Forward	Brown University	lvy
O'Brian White	Forward	University of Connecticut	Big East