# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



# Football candidates announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 18, 2014) – Thirty NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as candidates for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for *Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School*<sup>®</sup>, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 19 have grade point averages of 3.0 or higher. Two are returning All-Americans and 20 were all-conference selections in 2013.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

### **Football Candidates**

Ameer Abdullah, Nebraska Michael Bennett, Ohio State

Shane Carden, East Carolina

Sam Carter, TCU

Cameron Clemmons, Western Kentucky

La'el Collins, LSU

Chris Conley, Georgia

Reese Dismukes, Auburn

Jamil Douglas, Arizona State

Dominic Espinosa, Texas

Cody Fajardo, Nevada

Trey Flowers, Arkansas

Garrett Frye, Georgia Southern

Devin Gardner, Michigan

Leighton Gasque, Middle Tennessee

Charles Harris, Memphis
Taylor Kelly, Arizona State

Eric Kendricks, UCLA

Nate Leonard, Texas-San Antonio

Tyler Lockett, Kansas State Sean Mannion, Oregon State Bradley Marquez, Texas Tech

Karl Mickelsen, Fresno State

Mitch Morse, Missouri Mark Murphy, Indiana

Andy Phillips, Central Michigan

Terrance Plummer, UCF

Jordan Richards, Stanford

Deterrian Shackelford, Mississippi

JaCorey Shepherd, Kansas

## CONTACT

Laurie Bollig

Phone: 913/563-5417

lbollig@seniorCLASSaward.com

### ABOUT THE AWARD

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award.

NCAA is a trademark owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.