# FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



# Collegiate softball candidates announced for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 5, 2015) – Thirty of the top NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for *Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School* <sup>®</sup>, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2015 Women's College World Series.

Griffin Joiner, Kentucky

Stephany LaRosa, UCLA

Sammy Marshall, Western Illinois

### **Softball Candidates**

Callie Alford, Georgia State
Jackie Bates, Rutgers
Emily Bausher, Lehigh
Farish Beard, South Alabama
Sara Borders, Jacksonville State

Farish Beard, South Alabama Kathlyn Medina, Florida
Sara Borders, Jacksonville State Krista Menke, North Dakota State
Erin Burner, St. John's Hayley Miles, San Diego State

Ally Carda, UCLA

Cheyenne Cordes, California

Allison Cukrov, Stony Brook University

Michele Daubman, Fordham

Sara Driesenga, Michigan

Larissa Franklin, Western Kentucky

Amber Freeman, Arizona State

Lindsay Friedman, Saint Louis University

Chandler Howard, Rutgers

Kahley Novak, Central Florida

Sarah Onorato, Yale

Shelby Pendley, Oklahoma

Kaitlyn Richardson, Minnesota

Cydnee Sanders, Bucknell

Farrah Sullivan, Central Florida

Kaitlyn Thumann, Baylor

Lacey Waldrop, Florida State

Emily Weiman, NC State

For more information on all the candidates, visit <u>seniorCLASSaward.com</u>.

####

### CONTACT

Erik Miner

Phone: (913) 563-5412

eminer@premiersportsonline.com

## **ABOUT THE AWARD**

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award.

NCAA is a trademark owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.