FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE



Volleyball candidates announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 9, 2014) – Thirty NCAA® women's volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as candidates for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for *Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School*[®], the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 23 have grade point averages of 3.0 or higher, including 15 with GPAs of 3.5 or higher. There are five returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and 10 are members of teams ranked in the AVCA top 25 coaches preseason poll.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Division I Women's Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the candidates, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

Volleyball Candidates

Chelsea Albers, Kansas

Liz Brenner, Oregon

Kelli Browning, Creighton

Samantha Cash, Pepperdine

Kym Coley, Georgia Southern

Haley Eckerman, Texas

Jennifer Hamson, Brigham Young

Maggie Hannon, Cleveland State

Meredith Hardy, East Tennessee State

Casey Hinger, Cal State Northridge

Madi Kingdon, Arizona

Erin Kirby, Wyoming

Savanah Leaf, Miami (Florida)

Arielle Love, Duquesne

Karsta Lowe, UCLA

Sara McClinton, Kansas

Kaitlyn McIntyre, Central Michigan

Liz McMahon, Illinois

Ann Miller, Western Illinois

Katie Mosher, Florida State

Kori Moster, Michigan State

Chaniel Nelson, North Carolina

Belle Obert, Butler

Emily Orrick, Illinois State

Sara Rishell, UAB

Mackenzie Roddy, Northern Illinois

Viktoriia Stroilo, Albany

Krista Vansant, Washington

Kelsie Wills, Hofstra

Caroline Young, SMU

CONTACT

Laurie Bollig

Phone: 913/563-5417

lbollig@seniorCLASSaward.com

ABOUT THE AWARD

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award honors the attributes of senior student-athletes in four areas: community, classroom, character and competition. The award program is designed exclusively for college seniors who are utilizing their complete athletic eligibility, remaining committed to their university and pursuing the many rewards a senior season can bring. Premier Sports Management manages the award.

NCAA is a trademark owned or licensed by the National Collegiate Athletic Association.