Collegiate softball candidates announced for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award

March 05, 2015

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 5, 2015) – Thirty of the top NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2015 Women’s College World Series.

Softball 2015 Candidates

Name Position School
Callie Alford 3rd Base/Catcher Georgia State University
Jackie Bates OF Rutgers
Emily Bausher P/UT Lehigh
Farish Beard Pitcher University of South Alabama
Sara Borders IF Jacksonville State University
Erin Burner C/SS St. John's
Ally Carda Pitcher/Utility UCLA
Cheyenne Cordes Infield/Shortstop California
Allison Cukrov P Stony Brook University
Michele Daubman P/IF Fordham
Sara Driesenga P University of Michigan
Larissa Franklin OF WKU
Amber Freeman C Arizona State University
Lindsay Friedman CF Saint Louis University
Chandler Howard OF Rutgers
Griffin Joiner Catcher University of Kentucky
Stephany LaRosa C/1B UCLA
Sammy Marshall SS Western Illinois
Kathlyn Medina Shortstop Florida
Krista Menke P North Dakota State University
Hayley Miles CF San Diego State
Kahley Novak 2B/SS UCF
Sarah Onorato C Yale University
Shelby Pendley Infield/Pitcher University of Oklahoma
Kaitlyn Richardson Utility University of Minnesota
Cydnee Sanders SS Bucknell
Farrah Sullivan IF UCF
Kaitlyn Thumann Right Field Baylor
Lacey Waldrop Pitcher Florida State University
Emily Weiman P NC State University