Lacrosse candidates announced for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

February 16, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Twenty NCAA® men’s lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in lacrosse. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2011 candidate class includes 13 student-athletes with cumulative grade point averages of 3.0 or better. Ten are from teams ranked in the Inside Lacrosse preseason top 20, and eight players competed in the NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship last season, with two on the winning team.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the winner May 28 at the NCAA Division I Men’s Lacrosse Championship in Baltimore.

Lacrosse 2011 Candidates

Name Position School
Sean Bannon Midfield Fairfield University
Stefan Bauer Attack Lafayette College
Grant Catalino Attack Maryland
Dan Cremens Defense St. John's
Kevin Crowley Midfield Stony Brook University
Pat Dowling Defense University of Delaware
Johnathan Falcone Goalkeeper Yale University
Peter Fallon Defense Brown University
Ryan Flanagan Defense University of North Carolina
John Galloway Goalkeeper Syracuse University
Anthony Iannello Midfield Bryant University
Adam Jones Midfield Canisius College
Brian Karalunas Long-stick Midfield Villanova University
Tom Montelli Long-stick Midfield Duke University
Trevor Moore Attack Robert Morris University
John Rogener Midfield Siena College
Steve Serling Midfield Hofstra University
Jonathan Stumpf Midfield Lehigh University
Justin Turri Midfield Duke University
Corey Zindel Attack Marist College