Lacrosse candidates announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award®

February 19, 2014


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Twenty NCAA® lacrosse student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate men’s lacrosse. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2014 candidate class includes five student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher, and six were members of the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association All-America team in 2013.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Lacrosse Championships in Baltimore May 24-26.

Lacrosse 2014 Candidates

Name Position School
Colin Clive Attack Siena
Ryan Creighton Midfield North Carolina
Peter DeLuca Goalkeeper Jacksonville
Thomas DeNapoli Attack Towson
Troy Dennis Midfield Detroit
Michael Ehrhardt Defense Maryland
Rob Emery Midfield Virginia
Joe Fletcher Defense Loyola Maryland
Brendan Fowler Midfield Duke
Todd Heritage Attack Bucknell
Austin Kaut Goalkeeper Penn State
John LoCascio Midfield/Defense Villanova
Derek Maltz Attack Syracuse
Sean Meagher Defense Robert Morris
Joe Meurer Defense Ohio State
Stephen O’Hara Defense Notre Dame
Tom Schreiber Midfield Princeton
Ty Souders Defense Lehigh
Miles Thompson Attack Albany
Justin Ward Attack Loyola Maryland