Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Announces 2010 Finalists for NCAA Division I Lacrosse

March 29, 2010

Download in PDF format

(Overland Park, KS) – Ten NCAA® student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were tabbed as finalists today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the lacrosse division. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 20 candidates who were announced in February.

Nationwide balloting begins immediately to determine the winner. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award™ winner in late May at the NCAA Men’s Lacrosse Championships in Baltimore, Maryland.

The 2010 finalists are: Gavin Buckley, St. John’s University; Ken Clausen, University of Virginia; Pierce Derkac, Cornell University; Jason Duboe, Harvard University; Ridge Flick, U.S. Air Force Academy; Andrew Maisano, U.S. Military Academy; Thomas Muldoon, Brown University; Max Quinzani, Duke University; Scott Rodgers, University of Notre Dame, and Kyle Wimer, University of Maryland, Baltimore County.

These 10 names will be placed on the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award lacrosse ballot for a nationwide vote beginning today and concluding May 17. Fan balloting is available on the award’s official Web site, http://www.seniorCLASSaward.com, as well as through text messaging. Fans can text LAX to 74567 to vote for the finalists. These votes will be combined with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award.

“The sport of lacrosse is gaining popularity in different regions of the country, and these student-athletes that represent the sport are part of that reason,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “Their strong commitment to not only the sport but also the integrity of being a student-athlete will help this sport become more widely played throughout the United States.”

This marks the fourth year for the men’s lacrosse division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Cornell University midfielder Max Seibald received the award for the 2009 season and Syracuse University attackman Mike Leveille took home the 2008 honor. In 2007, Cornell goalkeeper Matt McMonagle won the inaugural men’s lacrosse award.

Lacrosse 2010 Finalists

Name Position School
Gavin Buckley Goalkeeper St. John's University
Ken Clausen Defense University of Virginia
Pierce Derkac Midfield Cornell University
Jason Duboe Midfield Harvard University
Ridge Flick Attack U.S. Air Force Academy
Andrew Maisano Midfield United States Military Academy
Thomas Muldoon Attack Brown University
Max Quinzani Attack Duke University
Scott Rodgers Goalkeeper University of Notre Dame
Kyle Wimer Midfield UMBC