Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Announces 2010 Finalists for NCAA Division I Men’s and Women’s Soccer

October 06, 2010


Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the two soccer divisions. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates that were announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote via the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award website through November 14. Fan votes will be combined with media and coaches votes to determine the winner. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winners during the 2010 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup championships in early December.

“The finalists for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in men’s and women’s soccer are in the midst of great final seasons,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “They are committed to finishing their collegiate careers in a strong way both on the field and in the classroom, and we are excited for their successes as they wrap up outstanding seasons.”

Men’s Soccer 2010 Finalists

Name Position School
Anthony Ampaipitakwong Midfielder University of Akron
Phil Bannister Forward Loyola (Maryland)
Jeb Brovsky Forward University of Notre Dame
Sam Hayden Goalkeeper UCSB
Jason Herrick Forward University of Maryland
Clint Irwin Goalkeeper Elon University
Samson Malijani Forward Fairleigh Dickinson University
Alex Mangan Forward DePaul University
Jeremy Vuolo Goalkeeper Syracuse University
Bobby Warshaw Defense Stanford University

Women’s Soccer 2010 Finalists

Name Position School
Callan Elswick Forward Davidson College
Lauren Fowlkes Defender/Midfielder University of Notre Dame
Ali Hawkins Midfielder University of North Carolina
Molly Kinsella Forward Vanderbilt University
Shay Mannino Goalkeeper Central Michigan University
Nicole Pasciolla Midfielder St. John's University
Christen Press Forward Stanford University
Katherine Sheeleigh Forward Harvard University
Rachel Shipley Midfielder Texas A&M University
Jessica Tsao Defender University of Portland