Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Names 20 NCAA® Student-Athletes to the 2009-10 Ice Hockey Candidate Cla

October 07, 2009

Download in PDF format

(Overland Park, KS) – Twenty NCAA® hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were tabbed as candidates today for the 2009-10 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

This year’s candidate class includes two preseason Inside College Hockey All-Americans, two returning American Hockey Coaches Association All-Americans from last season and eight candidates from teams ranked in the USA Today/USA Hockey preseason top 15 poll. Seven candidates helped their teams earn a spot in the 2009 NCAA Division I Men’s Ice Hockey Championship. Half of the 20 candidates have cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 and above. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award™ winner at the NCAA Men’s Frozen Four® in April.

The 20 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition. 

“I am always amazed at the commitment to academics, athletics and community that our nominees in hockey demonstrate each year,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “This year’s student-athletes have reached new heights in their concerns for a better community, their stellar work in the classroom and their numerous achievements on the field of competition.”

This marks the fourth year for the ice hockey division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. Michigan State University goaltender Jeff Lerg received the award for the 2008-09 season and Princeton University center Landis Stankievech took home the 2007-08 honor. In 2006-07, University of Notre Dame goaltender David Brown won the inaugural men’s hockey award.

Hockey 2009-10 Candidates

Name Position School
Jean-Marc Beaudoin Forward Quinnipiac University
Peter Boldt Defense Dartmouth College
Andrew Braithwaite Goaltender Merrimack College
Cody Chupp Right Wing Ferris State University
Ryan Donald Defender Yale University
Matt Fairchild Forward Air Force Academy
Chay Genoway Defenseman University of North Dakota
Barry Goers Defenseman UMass Lowell
Colin Greening Forward Cornell University
Dion Knelsen Center University of Alaska
Andrew Loewen Goaltender Canisius College
David McIntyre Forward Colgate
Martin Nolet Defenseman University of Massachusetts
Garrett Raboin Defense St. Cloud State University
Rhett Rakhshani Forward University of Denver
Dan Ringwald Defenseman RIT
Chris Summers Defense University of Michigan
Ryan Thang Left Wing Notre Dame
Eli Vlaisavljevich Defense Michigan Tech
Brett Watson Forward Massachusetts