Men’s and women’s soccer candidates announced for 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

August 18, 2010


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the two soccer divisions. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2010 candidate class includes seven National Soccer Coaches Association of America All-Americans from last season. Half of the 60 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.50 or better, while two have recorded perfect 4.00 GPAs. Seven of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2009 academic All-Americans. Five student-athletes participated in the NCAA Men’s or Women’s College Cups® in 2009. And 20 of the 60 candidates are on the 2010 preseason watch list for the Hermann Trophy, awarded annually by the Missouri Athletic Club to the top male and female Division I soccer players in the country at the end of the season. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winners during the 2010 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup championships in early December.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

“The nominations for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for soccer are traditionally strong in community service and academic excellence,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “This year’s candidate class reflects the strong sense of obligation these student-athletes have to their communities,  their universities and their teammates and we are proud to recognize them for their excellence.”

Men’s Soccer 2010 Candidates

Name Position School
Anthony Ampaipitakwong Midfielder University of Akron
Jeff Attinella Goalkeeper University of South Florida
Phil Bannister Forward Loyola (Maryland)
Michael Boxall Defender University of California, Santa Barbara
Jeb Brovsky Forward University of Notre Dame
Andres Casais Defender Pennsylvania State University
Matt Eliason Forward Northwestern University
Akira Fitzgerald Goalkeeper Wake Forest University
Matt Gold Midfielder Ohio State University
Sam Hayden Goalkeeper UCSB
Jason Herrick Forward University of Maryland
Clint Irwin Goalkeeper Elon University
Zach Johnson Goalkeeper West Virginia University
Daniel Keat Midfielder Dartmouth College
Ryan Kinne Midfielder/Forward Monmouth University
Kyle Knotek Defender Northern Illinois University
Dylan Leslie Midfielder Saint Mary's College of California
Robby Lynch Midfielder/Defender University of Evansville
Samson Malijani Forward Fairleigh Dickinson University
Alex Mangan Forward DePaul University
Jimmy Maurer Goalkeeper University of South Carolina
Ashley McInnes Forward University of Tulsa
Michael Perry Defender University of Denver
Indy Smith Defender University of North Carolina, Wilmington
John Bayron Sosa Midfielder University of Missouri, Kansas City
Jeremy Vuolo Goalkeeper Syracuse University
Josh Walburn Defender/Midfielder Princeton University
Bobby Warshaw Defense Stanford University
Tommy Watkins Defender University of Dayton
Alex Wood Midfielder University of Michigan

Women’s Soccer 2010 Candidates

Name Position School
Kristi Andreassen Defender Northern Arizona University
Kelly Blumenschein Forward University of Dayton
Becky Brown Forward Yale University
Erica Campanelli Defender University of Texas
Amanda DaCosta Midfielder Florida State University
Alyssa Dávila Midfielder University of Southern California
Alexandra Elston Midfielder Arizona State University
Callan Elswick Forward Davidson College
Friederike Engel Defender American University
Lauren Fowlkes Defender/Midfielder University of Notre Dame
Katie Fraine Goalkeeper University of Florida
Jenny Green Defender Western Illinois University
Ali Hawkins Midfielder University of North Carolina
Molly Kinsella Forward Vanderbilt University
Ali Kliment Defender Monmouth University
Shay Mannino Goalkeeper Central Michigan University
Katie McDermott Midfielder Fordham University
Megan Minnix Defender/Midfielder University of Charlotte
Alex Morgan Forward University of California, Berkeley
Annika Niemeier Midfielder Oklahoma State University
Whitney Palmer Forward University of Oklahoma
Nicole Pasciolla Midfielder St. John's University
Mollie Patton Goalkeeper University of South Carolina
Christen Press Forward Stanford University
Katherine Sheeleigh Forward Harvard University
Rachel Shipley Midfielder Texas A&M University
Lina Staropoli Midfielder Loyola University Maryland
Vendula Strnadova Midfielder University of Memphis
Danielle Toney Forward Pennsylvania State University
Jessica Tsao Defender University of Portland