Men’s and women’s soccer candidates announced for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

August 17, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in collegiate soccer. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2011 candidate class includes 15 National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-Americans from last season. Half of the 60 have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. Ten of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2010 Academic All-Americans. Twenty-six of the candidates play for teams ranked in the NSCAA’s preseason top 25 polls. Six student-athletes participated in the 2010 NCAA Men’s or Women’s College Cups®. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winners during the 2011 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup championships. The Women’s College Cup will take place December 2 and 4 in Kennesaw, Ga., while the Men’s College Cup will take place December 9 and 11 in Hoover, Ala.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. 

Men’s Soccer 2011 Candidates

Name Position School
Perez Agaba Forward IUPUI
Austin Berry Defender Louisville
Thomas Brandt Defense Pennsylvania
Tony Cascio Midfield Connecticut
Sean Dreybus Midfield/Forward Appalachian State
Wes Feighner Left Back Cal Poly
Ethan Finlay Forward Creighton
Andrew Fontein Goalkeeper UC Irvine
Adam Glick Goalkeeper Florida Gulf Coast
Brian Holt Goalkeeper Creighton
Matt Horn Defender/Midfielder Winthrop
Hunter Jumper Defender Virginia
Matt Kirby Forward Denver
Greg Klazura Defender Notre Dame
Greg Macnamara Defender Davidson
Matt Makowski Goalkeeper American
Eric Masch Forward Santa Clara
Michael Mazzullo Midfield Columbia
Heath Melugin Midfielder Missouri State
Steven Miller Forward Colgate
Thomas Ostrander Forward Drake
Jack Pearson Defender Dayton
Brent Richards Forward Washington
Colin Rolfe Forward Louisville
Andy Rose Midfielder/Defender UCLA
Bobby Smith Defender Bradley
Adam Still Defender SMU
Kirk Urso Midfielder North Carolina
Krystian Witkowski Forward/Midfield Marist
Carl Woszczynski Goalkeeper UAB

Women’s Soccer 2011 Candidates

Name Position School
Melanie Baskind Midfielder/Forward Harvard
Jana Basubas Midfield Lehigh
Kathleen Beljan Defender Dayton
Sidra Bonner Defender Cornell
Colleen Boyd Goalkeeper Oregon State
Kate Deines Midfield Washington
Danielle Foxhoven Forward Portland
Katy Frierson Midfielder Auburn
CoCo Goodson Defender UC Irvine
Chelsea Hatcher Midfielder/Forward Tennessee
Melissa Henderson Forward Notre Dame
Bianca Henninger Goalkeeper Santa Clara
Laura Heyboer Forward Michigan State
Tori Huster Midfielder Florida State
Mo Isom Goalkeeper LSU
Kelsey Kearney Goalkeeper UNC Greensboro
Natalie Kulla Goalkeeper Marquette
Sydney Leroux Forward UCLA
Krista Lopez Forward Oklahoma State
Paige Maxwell Forward Ohio State
Kerry McBride Defender/Midfielder Marquette
Teresa Noyola Midfield Stanford
Kelly Reinwald Midfielder Canisius
Aline Reis Goalkeeper Central Florida
Chandra Salmon-Christensen Defender Utah State
Casey Short Midfielder Florida State
Lizzy Simonin Defender Memphis
Jasmyne Spencer Forward Maryland
Jessica Teahan Goalkeeper Missouri State
Ingrid Wells Midfield Georgetown