Men’s and women’s soccer finalists announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

October 21, 2014

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 21, 2014) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate soccer. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through November 24. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup® championships in December.

Men’s Soccer 2014 Finalists

Name Position School
Tyler Arnone Midfield University of Michigan
Laurie Bell Midfield/Forward UW-Milwaukee
Andy Bevin Forward West Virginia University
Winston Boldt Goalkeeper Army
Kingsley Bryce Forward Saint Louis University
Wesley Charpie Defender/Midfielder USF
Sean Davis Midfield Duke University
Alex Ivanov Goalkeeper The Ohio State University
Charlie Lyon Goalkeeper Marquette University
Patrick Wall Goalkeeper University of Notre Dame

Women’s Soccer 2014 Finalists

Name Position School
Caroline Brawner Midfield Colgate
Emily Dzik Defender Eastern Michigan
Sabrina D’Angelo Goalkeeper University of South Carolina
Kylee Hathaway Goalkeeper Alabama State University
Sarah Killion Midfielder UCLA
Aislinn McIlvenny Midfield/Forward Manhattan College
Brooke Moody Defender University of Montana
Kate Schwindel Forward West Virginia University
Sam Scolarici Forward Hofstra University
Stephanie Verdoia Forward Seattle University