Men’s hockey finalists announced for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award

February 13, 2013


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Ten NCAA® men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists today for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate hockey. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School,® the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 20 candidates announced in November. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website or on the Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through March 25. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Frozen Four® in Pittsburgh April 11 and 13.

DI Hockey 2012-13 Finalists

Name Position School
Brett Beebe Forward Western Michigan
Danny Biega Defense Harvard
Kyle Bonis Left Wing Ferris State
Stephen Carew Forward Air Force
Alex Gerke Defense Connecticut
Ben Hanowski Forward St. Cloud State
Brendan Jamison Defense Robert Morris
Brandon Nunn Forward Holy Cross
Cheyne Rocha Defense Army
Steven Spinell Defense Miami (Ohio)