Men’s hockey finalists announced for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award

February 13, 2015

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 13, 2015) – Ten NCAA® men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists today for the 2014-15 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate hockey. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 30. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four®.

Hockey 2014-15 Finalists

Name Position School
Austin Czarnik Forward Miami University (OH)
Chad Demers Forward Air Force Academy
Spiro Goulakos Defense Colgate
Tanner Kero Forward Michigan Technological University
Mark MacMillan Forward University of North Dakota
Nick Mattson Defense University of North Dakota
CJ Motte Goaltender Ferris State University
Mike Paliotta Defenseman Vermont
Kyle Rau Forward University of Minnesota
Cody Wydo Forward Robert Morris University