NCAA Division I men’s and women’s soccer finalists announced for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

October 05, 2011


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in collegiate soccer. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on either the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award website or the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through November 14. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winners during the 2011 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup championships. The Women’s College Cup will take place December 2 and 4 in Kennesaw, Ga., while the Men’s College Cup will take place December 9 and 11 in Hoover, Ala.

Men’s Soccer 2011 Finalists

Name Position School
Perez Agaba Forward IUPUI
Tony Cascio Midfield Connecticut
Andrew Fontein Goalkeeper UC Irvine
Adam Glick Goalkeeper Florida Gulf Coast
Brian Holt Goalkeeper Creighton
Matt Horn Defender/Midfielder Winthrop
Greg Klazura Defender Notre Dame
Colin Rolfe Forward Louisville
Bobby Smith Defender Bradley
Adam Still Defender SMU

Women’s Soccer 2011 Finalists

Name Position School
Kathleen Beljan Defender Dayton
Danielle Foxhoven Forward Portland
Katy Frierson Midfielder Auburn
Laura Heyboer Forward Michigan State
Mo Isom Goalkeeper LSU
Natalie Kulla Goalkeeper Marquette
Krista Lopez Forward Oklahoma State
Teresa Noyola Midfield Stanford
Aline Reis Goalkeeper Central Florida
Lizzy Simonin Defender Memphis