Softball candidates announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award®

February 20, 2014


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Thirty NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2014 candidate class includes 13 student-athletes who have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Four were named to the CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-American team, and nine were members of the National Fastpitch Coaches Association All-America team in 2013.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Women’s College World Series® in Oklahoma City May 29 through June 4.

Softball 2014 Candidates

Name Position School
Elizabeth Arana Short Stop Stephen F. Austin
Kate Bowen Pitcher/Second Base Manhattan
Morgan Boyd Outfield Norfolk State
Hannah Campbell Pitcher South Alabama
Becca Changstrom Pitcher Creighton
Tatum Edwards Pitcher/Utility Nebraska
Dallas Escobedo Pitcher Arizona State
Brittany Gardner Pitcher Loyola Chicago
Jennifer Gilbert Outfield Ball State
Meghan Harman Third Base Loyola Marymount
Kaila Hunt Infield Alabama
Kaitlin Inglesby Pitcher Washington
Katie Keller Second Base Louisville
Kasey Lange Third Base Harvard
Aubrey Mable Short Stop Bryant
Mari Majam Left Field Northwestern
Destinee Martinez Centerfield Oklahoma
Jayme Mask Outfield Boston
Sara Moulton Pitcher Minnesota
Sara Nevins Pitcher South Florida
Erika Polidori Catcher/Outfield Oakland
Hannah Rogers Pitcher Florida
Alysha Rudnik Catcher/Third Base Georgia Tech
Kourtney Salvarola Shortstop South Florida
Nicole Sappingfield Outfield Michigan
Madison Shipman Shortstop Tennessee
Jayna Spivey Second Base Southern Illinois
Andie Varsho Outfield Purdue
Bailey Wigness Outfield Arizona State
Laura Winter Pitcher/Infield Notre Dame