Softball Candidates Announced for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award

February 28, 2017

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (Feb. 28, 2017) – Thirty of the top NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2017 Women’s College World Series®.

For more information on all the candidates, visit

# # # #


Softball 2017 Candidates

Name Position School
Ali Aguilar Infielder University of Washington
Maryssa Becker Pitcher University of Louisville
Dylan Christensen First Base/Outfielder DePaul University
Christina Clermont Pitcher Long Beach State
Kasey Cooper Infielder Auburn University
Savannah Jo Dorsey Pitcher Ohio
Hannah Flippen Second Base Utah
Taylor Glover Outfielder CSUN
Delanie Gourley Pitcher University of Florida
Sara Groenewegen Pitcher/Utility University of Minnesota
Kylee Hanson Pitcher Florida Atlantic
Shaye Harre First Base Southern Illinois
MJ Knighten Third Base Nebraska
Vicky Lattanzio First Base/Utility Lehigh University
Brittany Lewis Infielder Stephen F. Austin
Sydney Littlejohn Pitcher University of Alabama
Sam Macken Utility University of Minnesota
Elizabeth McCarthy Pitcher Longwood
Lauren Moore Infielder UNCW
Madyson Moran Second Base James Madison
Taylor Nowlin Pitcher Grand Canyon
Jayne Oberdorf Pitcher Marist
Chandra Parr Second Base University of Evansville
Daphne Pofek P CSUN
Alex Powers First Base Florida State University
Delaney Spaulding Shortstop UCLA
Kristen Turner First Base Iona College
Brittney Vansway Infielder Utah Valley
Camree Wartman Second Base Grand Canyon
Morgan Zerkle Utility Marshall University