Softball finalists announced for the 2015 Senior CLASS Award

April 07, 2015

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (April 7, 2015) – Ten NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2014-15 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 candidates announced in March. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 11. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipient for softball will be announced during the 2015 NCAA Women’s College World Series®, which runs May 28 through June 3 in Oklahoma City.

Softball 2015 Finalists

Name Position School
Callie Alford 3rd Base/Catcher Georgia State University
Farish Beard Pitcher University of South Alabama
Ally Carda Pitcher/Utility UCLA
Cheyenne Cordes Infield/Shortstop California
Griffin Joiner Catcher University of Kentucky
Kathlyn Medina Shortstop Florida
Shelby Pendley Infield/Pitcher University of Oklahoma
Kaitlyn Richardson Utility University of Minnesota
Kaitlyn Thumann Right Field Baylor
Lacey Waldrop Pitcher Florida State University