Softball Finalists Announced for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award

April 03, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (April 3, 2019) – Ten NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate softball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier this season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through May 20. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award recipient for softball will be announced prior to the 2019 NCAA Women’s College World Series® in Oklahoma City, May 30 through June 5.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # # #


Softball 2019 Finalists

Name Position School
Taran Alvelo Pitcher University of Washington
Kelly Barnhill Pitcher University of Florida
Faith Canfield Second Base University of Michigan
Meghan King Pitcher Florida State University
Aubrey Leach Second Base University of Tennessee
Amanda Lorenz Outfield University of Florida
Riley Randolph Pitcher Florida Gulf Coast University
Katie Reed Shortstop University of Kentucky
Sydney Romero Infield University of Oklahoma
Morgan Turkoly Outfield Louisiana Tech University