Volleyball candidates announced for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award

September 20, 2012


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2012 candidate class includes 16 American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans from last season. Twenty-four of the 30 candidates have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better. One of the candidates was recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as a 2011 Capital One Academic All-American. The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship, which will take place December 13 and 15 in Louisville, Kentucky.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

DI Volleyball 2012 Candidates

Name Position School
Lesli Akeo Libero Siena
Andrea Beck Middle Blocker Wake Forest
Alaina Bergsma Outside Hitter Oregon
Megan Bober Setter Creighton
Amy Braun Outside Hitter Northern Iowa
Danielle Carlson Middle Hitter Marquette
Karissa Cook Setter Stanford
Dana Cranston Outside Hitter Colorado State
Kasey Elswick Libero/DS Tennessee at Martin
Ashley Frazier Outside Hitter Kentucky
Katie Fuller Opposite Hitter Southern California
Krysta Gardner Outside Hitter Bethune-Cookman
Christiana Gray Middle Blocker Duke
Andrea Hannasch Middle Blocker San Diego State
Altrese Hawkins Outside Hitter Memphis
Rachel Iaquaniello Outside Hitter Eastern Michigan
Rachael Kidder Outside Hitter UCLA
Faimie Kingsley Middle Blocker Denver
Rachel Krabacher Outside Hitter Dayton
Alison Landwehr Setter Iowa State
Gina Mancuso Outside Hitter Nebraska
Lindsey Miller Middle Blocker Texas A&M
Jodi Purdy Outside Hitter Wyoming
Taylor Root Libero Valparaiso
Robin Rostratter Libero California
Sam Serley Middle Blocker UAB
Jamie Straube Middle Blocker Iowa State
Ariel Turner Outside Hitter Purdue
Kate Van Dyke Setter Georgia Southern
Breanne Van Every Outside Hitter Idaho State