Volleyball candidates announced for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award

September 09, 2014

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 9, 2014) – Thirty NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as candidates for the 2014 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Of the 30 candidates, 23 have grade point averages of 3.0 or higher, including 15 with GPAs of 3.5 or higher. There are five returning American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Americans, and 10 are members of teams ranked in the AVCA top 25 coaches preseason poll.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

Volleyball 2014 Candidates

Name Position School
Chelsea Albers Outside Hitter/Right Side University of Kansas
Liz Brenner Outside Hitter Oregon
Kelli Browning Middle Blocker Creighton
Samantha Cash Middle Blocker Pepperdine
Kym Coley Middle Blocker Georgia Southern
Haley Eckerman Outside Hitter University of Texas
Jennifer Hamson Opposite Hitter Brigham Young University
Maggie Hannon Middle Hitter Cleveland State University
Meredith Hardy Middle Blocker East Tennessee State University
Casey Hinger Middle Blocker Cal State Northridge
Madi Kingdon Outside Hitter University of Arizona
Erin Kirby Middle Blocker University of Wyoming
Savanah Leaf Outside Hitter University of Miami
Arielle Love Middle Hitter Duquesne
Karsta Lowe Opposite Hitter UCLA
Sara McClinton Outside Hitter University of Kansas
Kaitlyn McIntyre Outside Hitter Central Michigan University
Liz McMahon Opposite Hitter Illinois
Ann Miller Outside Hitter Western Illinois University
Katie Mosher Libero Florida State University
Kori Moster Libero Michigan State University
Chaniel Nelson Opposite Hitter University of North Carolina Chapel Hill
Belle Obert Outside Hitter Butler University
Emily Orrick Libero Illinois State
Sara Rishell Middle Blocker UAB
Mackenzie Roddy Outside Hitter Northern Illinois University
Viktoriia Stroilo Libero University at Albany
Krista Vansant Outside Hitter University of Washington
Kelsie Wills Outside Hitter Hofstra University
Caroline Young Opposite Hitter SMU