Volleyball finalists announced for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award

October 19, 2012


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Ten NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through November 26. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2012 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship, which will take place December 13 and 15 in Louisville, Kentucky.

DI Volleyball 2012 Finalists

Name Position School
Alaina Bergsma Outside Hitter Oregon
Dana Cranston Outside Hitter Colorado State
Ashley Frazier Outside Hitter Kentucky
Altrese Hawkins Outside Hitter Memphis
Rachel Iaquaniello Outside Hitter Eastern Michigan
Rachael Kidder Outside Hitter UCLA
Rachel Krabacher Outside Hitter Dayton
Gina Mancuso Outside Hitter Nebraska
Sam Serley Middle Blocker UAB
Ariel Turner Outside Hitter Purdue