Volleyball finalists announced for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award

November 03, 2016


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (November 3, 2016) – Ten NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as finalists today for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 5. Fan votes will then be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the finalists, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #


Volleyball 2016 Finalists

Name Position School
Inky Ajanaku Middle Blocker Stanford University
Jazzmin Babers Middle Blocker Texas A&M
Amy Boswell Middle blocker BYU
Katie Brand Setter Kansas State University
Claire Felix Middle Blocker UCLA
Kadie Rolfzen Outside Hitter Nebraska
Lauren Smith Middle Blocker Creighton
Hannah Tapp Right Side Hitter/ Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Paige Tapp Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Taylor Whittingham Libero University of Southern California