Volleyball Finalists Announced for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award

November 09, 2017

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (November 9, 2017) – Ten NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected today as finalists today for the 2017 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 4. Fan votes will then be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award recipient will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in December.

For more information on all the finalists, visit seniorCLASSaward.com.

# # # #


Volleyball 2017 Finalists

Name Position School
Kelsey Bittinger Outside Hitter Kent State
Ashley Dusek Libero Kentucky
Lily Johnson Outside Hitter Missouri State
Jaelyn Keene Middle Blocker Illinois State
Simone Lee Outside Hitter Penn State
Abbie Lehman Middle Blocker Wichita State
Jessica Lucas Setter Western Kentucky
Mary-Kate Marshall Outside Hitter Oregon State
Katie Staiger Outside Hitter Baylor
Haleigh Washington Middle Blocker Penn State