FBS football finalists announced for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award

October 18, 2012


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 3. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2012-13 bowl season.

FBS Football 2012 Finalists

Name Position School
Ryan Aplin Quarterback Arkansas State
Johnthan Banks Defensive Back Mississippi State
Matt Barkley Quarterback USC
Duron Harmon Defensive Back Rutgers
Landry Jones Quarterback Oklahoma
Barrett Jones Offensive Line Alabama
Collin Klein Quarterback Kansas State
Sean Renfree Quarterback Duke
Adam Replogle Defensive Tackle Indiana
Manti Te’o Linebacker Notre Dame