Finalists announced for inaugural 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award for volleyball

October 11, 2010


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Ten NCAA® women’s volleyball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the first-ever Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in volleyball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates that was announced in August. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to determine the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote via the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award website through November 23. Fan votes will be combined with media and coaches votes to determine the winner.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award® winner during the 2010 NCAA Division I Women’s Volleyball Championship in Kansas City in mid-December.

“It’s exciting to recognize the 10 volleyball finalists, a remarkable group of young women dedicated to excellence in all areas of their lives,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “We are impressed with the level of involvement they have in community service efforts and in the classroom while playing a high-profile sport like women’s volleyball.”?

Volleyball 2010 Finalists

Name Position School
Sydney Anderson Setter University of Nebraska
Ellie Blankenship Libero University of Northern Iowa
Laura DeBruler Outside Hitter University of Illinois
Allyson Doyle Outside Hitter Western Michigan University
Francie Ekwerekwu Middle Blocker University of Oklahoma
Lauren Gibbemeyer Middle Blocker University of Minnesota
Jenna Hagglund Setter University of Washington
Alix Klineman Outside Hitter Stanford University
Carli Lloyd Setter University of California, Berkeley
Arielle Wilson Middle Hitter Penn State University