Football candidates announced for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award

September 20, 2012


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Thirty NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2012 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2012 candidate class includes eight All-Americans from last season. Sixteen of the 30 candidates have maintained a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or better. Four of the candidates were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2011 Capital One Academic All-Americans. Twenty-four student-athletes play for teams that participated in a bowl game last season. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2012-13 bowl season.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. ?

FBS Football 2012 Candidates

Name Position School
Ryan Aplin Quarterback Arkansas State
Montee Ball Running Back Wisconsin
Johnthan Banks Defensive Back Mississippi State
Matt Barkley Quarterback USC
Jeff Braun Offensive Line West Virginia
Rex Burkhead Running Back Nebraska
Blaize Foltz Offensive Guard TCU
Rashard Hall Safety Clemson
Duron Harmon Defensive Back Rutgers
Dustin Hopkins Kicker Florida State
Travis Johnson Defensive End San Jose State
Landry Jones Quarterback Oklahoma
Barrett Jones Offensive Line Alabama
Collin Klein Quarterback Kansas State
A.J. Klein Linebacker Iowa State
Jeff Locke Punter UCLA
Philip Lutzenkirchen Tight End Auburn
Riley Nelson Quarterback Brigham Young
Kyle Quinn Center Arizona
Sean Renfree Quarterback Duke
Adam Replogle Defensive Tackle Indiana
Luke Ruff Free Safety Wyoming
Jason Schepler Tight End Northern Illinois
John Simon Defensive End Ohio State
Caleb Sturgis Kicker Florida
Matt Summers-Gavin Offensive Line Cal
Manti Te’o Linebacker Notre Dame
Omoregie Uzzi Guard Georgia Tech
Stephen Warner Center Louisiana Tech
Tyler Wilson Quarterback Arkansas