Football Candidates Announced for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award

September 26, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (Sept. 26, 2019) – Thirty NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as candidates for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

To determine the final Senior CLASS Award winner, the 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. Along with the winner, the 10 finalists will be awarded Senior CLASS Award first- or second-team honors.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in January. For more information on the candidates, visit

# # # #

Football 2019 Candidates

Name Position School
Hakeem Adeniji Offensive Line Kansas
Tremayne Anchrum Offensive Line Clemson
Mohamed Barry Linebacker Nebraska
Shaun Bradley Linebacker Temple University
Khalil Brooks Linebacker Middle Tennessee
Derrick Brown Defensive Tackle Auburn University
Travis Bruffy Offensive Line Texas Tech
Myles Bryant Defensive Back/Safety Washington
Johnny Den Bleyker Long Snapper UCLA
Reese Donahue Defensive Line West Virginia University
Dominik Eberle Placekicker Utah State University
Blake Gillikin Punter Penn State
Jeff Gladney Cornerback TCU
Justin Herbert Quarterback University of Oregon
Sterling Hofrichter Punter Syracuse University
Jalen Hurts Quarterback University of Oklahoma
Ray Lima Defensive Line Iowa State
Bryan London II Linebacker Texas State University
Zack Moss Running Back Utah
Lucas Niang Offensive Tackle TCU
Danny Pinter Right Tackle Ball State University
Sean Pollard Offensive Line Clemson
Zach Shackelford Center University of Texas
Bryce Torneden Safety Kansas
Alex Turner Defensive Tackle East Carolina University
Jon Wassink Quarterback Western Michigan University
Evan Weaver Inside Linebacker California
Nick Westbrook Wide Receiver Indiana University
Darryl Williams Center Mississippi State University
Dustin Woodard Offensive Line University of Memphis