Football finalists announced for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award

November 06, 2013


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as finalists today for the 2013 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. A complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 16. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

Football 2013 Finalists

Name Position School
Chris Borland Linebacker Wisconsin
Derek Carr Quarterback Fresno State
Alden Darby Safety Arizona State
Gabe Ikard Center Oklahoma
Jordan Lynch Quarterback Northern Illinois
Jake Matthews Offensive Tackle Texas A&M
AJ McCarron Quarterback Alabama
Cairo Santos Kicker Tulane
John Urschel Offensive Guard Penn State
Kyle Van Noy Linebacker BYU