Football finalists announced for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award

November 03, 2016


OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (November 3, 2016) – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as finalists for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced in September. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 12. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

For more information on all the finalists, visit

# # # #


Football 2016 Finalists

Name Position School
Zach Banner Offensive Tackle University of Southern California
Jake Butt Tight End University of Michigan
Jake Elliott Place Kicker Memphis
Evan Engram Tight End Ole Miss
Jordan Evans Linebacker University of Oklahoma
O.J. Howard Tight End The University of Alabama - Tuscaloosa
Zay Jones Wide Receiver East Carolina University
Chad Kelly Quarterback Ole Miss
Tyler Orlosky Center West Virginia University
Tre’Davious White Defensive Back LSU