Football Finalists Announced for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award

October 31, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (October 31, 2019) – Ten NCAA® Football Bowl Subdivision student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected today as finalists for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate football. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I FBS senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 30 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website through December 9. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner. The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the football bowl season in early January.

For more information on all the finalists, visit

# # # #

Football 2019 Finalists

Name Position School
Derrick Brown Defensive Tackle Auburn University
Dominik Eberle Placekicker Utah State University
Justin Herbert Quarterback University of Oregon
Sterling Hofrichter Punter Syracuse University
Jalen Hurts Quarterback University of Oklahoma
Zack Moss Running Back Utah
Zach Shackelford Center University of Texas
Jon Wassink Quarterback Western Michigan University
Evan Weaver Inside Linebacker California
Dustin Woodard Offensive Line University of Memphis