Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Announces 2010 Finalists for NCAA Division I Softball

March 29, 2010

Download in PDF format

(Overland Park, KS) – Ten NCAA® student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were tabbed as finalists today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in the softball division. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 candidates who were announced in February.

Nationwide balloting begins immediately to determine the winner. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award™ winner in late May at the NCAA Women’s College World Series® in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma.

The 2010 finalists are: Chelsea Bramlett, Mississippi State University; Francesca Enea, University of Florida; Alissa Haber, Stanford University; Becca Heteniak, DePaul University; Tiffany Huff, University of Tennessee, Knoxville; Molly Johnson, University of Kentucky; Megan Langenfeld, University of California, Los Angeles; Charlotte Morgan, University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa; Nikki Nemitz, University of Michigan; and Nicole Pauly, Northwestern University.

These 10 names will be placed on the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award softball ballot for a nationwide vote beginning today and concluding May 17. Fan balloting is available on the award’s official Web site, http://www.seniorCLASSaward.com, as well as through text messaging. Fans can text SOFTBALL to 74567 to vote for the finalists. These votes will be combined with votes from coaches and media to determine the recipient of the award.

“It takes a tremendous amount of discipline to play a sport in college and still maintain an identity as a student,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “These 10 softball finalists have managed to do just that, scoring high marks in the classroom, the community and on the diamond.”

This marks the fourth year for the softball division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. University of Florida pitcher Stacey Nelson received the award for the 2009 season and Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher took home the 2008 honor. In 2007, University of Arizona outfielder Caitlin Lowe won the inaugural softball award.

Softball 2010 Finalists

Name Position School
Chelsea Bramlett Catcher Mississippi State University
Francesca Enea Outfield University of Florida
Alissa Haber Outfield Stanford University
Becca Heteniak Pitcher / Designated Player DePaul University
Tiffany Huff Catcher/First Base University of Tennessee
Molly Johnson Shortstop University of Kentucky
Megan Langenfeld Pitcher/First Base UCLA
Charlotte Morgan Designated Player/Pitcher/First Base University of Alabama
Nikki Nemitz Pitcher University of Michigan
Nicole Pauly Second Base Northwestern University