Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award Announces 2010 for NCAA® Division I Softball

February 09, 2010

Download in PDF format

(Overland Park, KS) – Thirty NCAA® softball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were tabbed as candidates today for the 2010 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – classroom, character, community and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School™, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

This year’s candidate class includes 10 student-athletes on teams ranked in the USA Today/National Fastpitch Coaches Association (NFCA) preseason top 25 poll and 10 players who finished the 2009 season as Louisville Slugger/NFCA All-Americans. Five candidates were on the ESPN the Magazine Academic All-America team in 2009. Nineteen of the candidates carry a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or better.

Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the Senior CLASS Award™ winner at the NCAA Women’s College World Series® in June.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of classroom, character, community and competition. 

“These young women are committed to their studies and to their teams’ success on the diamond,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “They also have consistently contributed to important service projects in their communities, making their collegiate experiences that much richer.”

This marks the fourth year for the softball division of the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award. University of Florida pitcher Stacey Nelson received the award for the 2009 season and Virginia Tech pitcher Angela Tincher took home the 2008 honor. In 2007, University of Arizona outfielder Caitlin Lowe won the inaugural softball award.

Softball 2010 Candidates

Name Position School
Becky Anderson Pitcher George Mason University
Blair Bodenmiller Shortstop Florida Atlantic University
Chelsea Bramlett Catcher Mississippi State University
Mandy Correale Third Base College of the Holy Cross
Lauren Delaney Pitcher Northwestern University
Michele DePasquale First Base Hofstra University
Francesca Enea Outfield University of Florida
Christa Fullwood First Base Gardner-Webb University
Ashley Griffith Outfield Pennsylvania State University
Alissa Haber Outfield Stanford University
Becca Heteniak Pitcher / Designated Player DePaul University
Liane Horiuchi Shortstop Purdue University
Tiffany Huff Catcher/First Base University of Tennessee
Nina Iduate Infield Georgia Southern University
Alyson Intihar Infield Cornell University
Molly Johnson Shortstop University of Kentucky
Megan Langenfeld Pitcher/First Base UCLA
Alyson McWherter Outfield University of Washington
Molly Meyer Outfield University of Dayton
Elizabeth Milian Pitcher Ball State University
Janay Mitchell Outfield Bradley University
Charlotte Morgan Designated Player/Pitcher/First Base University of Alabama
Nikki Nemitz Pitcher University of Michigan
Marissa Nichols Outfield UNLV
Tara Oltman Pitcher Creighton University
Nicole Pauly Second Base Northwestern University
Kellie Sirus First Base/Third Base Lipscomb University
Brittany Stanley Pitcher / Designated Player Campbell University
Stacie Townsend Pitcher/Utility University of Texas at El Paso
Erin Tresselt Pitcher University of Texas