Men’s and women’s basketball candidates announced for 2011 Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award

November 03, 2010


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award in basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2011 men’s candidate class includes three CoSIDA Academic All-Americans from a year ago, nine student-athletes on the preseason watch list for the John R. Wooden Award, 16 players with grade point averages of 3.0 and above and eight from teams ranked in the Associated Press preseason top 25. The 2011 women’s candidate class includes five players who were CoSIDA Academic All-Americans last year, 22 student-athletes with grade point averages of 3.0 or better, four players who participated in the 2010 Women’s Final Four and 15 players on the preseason watch list for the John R. Wooden Award. Lowe’s, an official Corporate Partner of the NCAA, will announce the men’s basketball Senior CLASS Award® winner at the NCAA Men’s Final Four® in Houston and the women’s basketball Senior CLASS Award winner at the NCAA Women’s Final Four® in Indianapolis.

The candidate class will be narrowed to 10 men’s and 10 women’s finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

“The young men and women who have been selected as candidates for the basketball award are shining examples of student-athletes who exercise time management every day, juggling class work and community service with practice and games,” said Tom Lamb, Lowe’s senior vice president of marketing. “The ability to balance things that are important to them will be a skill they will use throughout their lives.”?

Men’s Basketball 2010-11 Candidates

Name Position School
Kevin Anderson Guard Richmond
John Ashworth Guard IUPUI
Devon Beitzel Guard Northern Colorado
Noah Dahlman Forward Wofford
Malcolm Delaney Guard Virginia Tech
Dodie Dunson Guard Bradley
Kenneth Faried Center Morehead State
Jimmer Fredette Guard BYU
Dairese Gary Guard New Mexico
Devin Gibson Guard Texas San Antonio
Jeremy Hazell Guard Seton Hall
Blake Hoffarber Guard Minnesota
Matt Howard Forward Butler
Gary Johnson Forward Texas
Cameron Jones Guard Northern Arizona
Rob Keefer Guard Lehigh
Andrew Keister Forward/Center Holy Cross
Kenny Lawson, Jr. Center Creighton
Jon Leuer Forward Wisconsin
David Lighty Guard Ohio State
Mickey McConnell Guard Saint Mary's (California)
Brendan McKillop Guard Davidson
E’Twaun Moore Guard Purdue
Jacob Pullen Guard Kansas State
Tyrel Reed Guard Kansas
Damian Saunders Forward Duquesne
Xavier Silas Guard Northern Illinois
Kyle Singler Forward Duke
Chris Warren Guard Mississippi
Chris Wright Forward Dayton

Women’s Basketball 2010-11 Candidates

Name Position School
Kachine Alexander Guard Iowa
Erin Anthony Forward Army
Angie Bjorklund Guard/Forward Tennessee
Jessica Breland Forward North Carolina
Victoria Dunlap Forward Kentucky
Dawn Evans Guard James Madison
Amber Harris Forward Xavier
Ify Ibekwe Forward Arizona
Amy Jaeschke Center Northwestern
Alyssa Karel Guard Wisconsin
Jantel Lavender Center Ohio State
Maya Moore Forward Connecticut
Kayla Pedersen Forward Stanford
Ta’Shia Phillips Center Xavier
Julie Piper Forward Eastern Washington
Jeanette Pohlen Guard Stanford
Lauren Prochaska Guard/Forward Bowling Green
Erica Prosser Guard Lehigh
Sam Quigley Guard DePaul
Liz Repella Guard West Virginia
Jence Rhoads Guard Vanderbilt
Danielle Robinson Guard Oklahoma
Jaleesa Ross Guard Fresno State
Sam Schuett Forward Creighton
Brittney Smith Forward Dartmouth
Helena Sverrisdottir Guard/Forward TCU
Kayla Tetschlag Guard/Forward Green Bay
Jasmine Thomas Guard Duke
Courtney Vandersloot Guard Gonzaga