Men’s and women’s basketball candidates announced for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award

October 31, 2012


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The 2012-13 candidate classes include seven men’s players and seven women’s players who were recognized by the College Sports Information Directors of America as 2012 Capital One Academic All-Americans. Five men and 10 women were Associated Press All-Americans. Twenty men’s candidates and 18 women’s candidates have cumulative grade point averages above 3.0. The men’s Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Final Four® in Atlanta April 6 and 8, while the women’s winner will be announced during the NCAA Women’s Final Four® in New Orleans April 7 and 9.

The candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 men’s and 10 women’s finalists midway through the regular season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one men’s finalist and one women’s finalist who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. ?

DI Men’s Basketball 2012-13 Candidates

Name Position School
God’sgift Achiuwa Forward St. John's
O.D. Anosike Forward Siena
Ben Averkamp Forward Loyola-Chicago
Brian Barbour Guard Columbia
Jared Berggren Forward/Center Wisconsin
Isaiah Canaan Guard Murray State
Drew Crawford Forward Northwestern
Matthew Dellavedova Guard Saint Mary's
Tim Frazier Guard Penn State
Mike Groselle Center The Citadel
C.J. Harris Guard Wake Forest
Jordan Hulls Guard Indiana
Gabe Knutson Forward Lehigh
JP Kuhlman Guard Davidson
Andrew Lawrence Guard College of Charleston
Jonathan Lee Guard Northeastern
Scott Martin Guard Notre Dame
C.J.  McCollum Guard Lehigh
Brock Motum Forward Washington State University
Mike Muscala Center Bucknell
Robert Olson Guard Loyola-Maryland
Brandon Paul Guard Illinois
Mason Plumlee Forward Duke
Colt Ryan Guard Evansville
Peyton Siva Guard Louisville
Andrew Smith Center Butler
Michael Snaer Guard Florida State
Marc Trasolini Forward Santa Clara
Jeff Withey Center Kansas
Nate Wolters Guard South Dakota State

DI Women’s Basketball 2012-13 Candidates

Name Position School
Kayla Alexander Center Syracuse
Anne Marie Armstrong Guard/Forward Georgia
Alex Bentley Guard Penn State
Brittany Chambers Guard Kansas State
Layshia Clarendon Guard California
Tiffany Clarke Forward Vanderbilt
Elena Delle Donne Guard/Forward Delaware
Skylar Diggins Guard Notre Dame
Caroline Durbin Guard New Mexico
Shante Evans Forward Hofstra
Jennifer George Forward Florida
Angel Goodrich Guard Kansas
Lily Grenci Forward Siena College
Brittney Griner Center Baylor
Whitney Hand Guard Oklahoma
Tayler Hill Guard Ohio State
Jacqui Kalin Guard Northern Iowa
Marissa Kastanek Guard North Carolina State
Kevi Luper Guard Oral Roberts
Anna Martin Guard DePaul
A’dia Mathies Guard Kentucky
Victoria McGowan Guard Stetson
Drey Mingo Forward Purdue
Ta’Kenya Nixon Guard Eastern Illinois
Kaela Oakes Guard Idaho State
Chelsea Poppens Forward Iowa State
Jaime Printy Guard Iowa
Sugar Rodgers Guard Georgetown
Rachel Semansky Forward Montana State
Naama Shafir Guard Toledo