Men’s and women’s basketball candidates announced for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award

January 19, 2016

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (January 19, 2016) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, all are in excellent academic standing with 10 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Five of this year’s candidates were 2014-15 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans®, and 20 returned to the court this season after receiving All-America honors for their performance a year ago. Each of the candidates also volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplify excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

Men’s Basketball 2015-16 Candidates

Name Position School
Ryan Arcidiacono Guard Villanova
Craig Bradshaw Guard Belmont
Malcolm Brogdon Guard University of Virginia
John Brown Forward High Point University
Kyle Collinsworth Guard BYU
Rapheal Davis Guard Purdue University
Perry Ellis Forward University of Kansas
Obi Emegano Guard Oral Roberts University
Phil Forte Shooting Guard Oklahoma State
Chris Fowler Guard Central Michigan
Mike Gesell Guard University of Iowa
Shaq Goodwin Forward University of Memphis
Buddy Hield Guard University of Oklahoma
Peter Hooley Guard University at Albany
Amile Jefferson Forward Duke University
Cedric Kuakumensah Forward Brown
Egidijus Mockevicius Center University of Evansville
Nic Moore Guard SMU
Georges Niang Forward Iowa State University
Ethan O’Day Forward University of Vermont
Marcus Paige Guard University of North Carolina
Alex Poythress Forward University of Kentucky
James Robinson Guard University of Pittsburgh
Justin Sears Forward Yale University
Shavon Shields Forward/Guard University of Nebraska
Denzel Valentine Guard Michigan State
Fred VanVleet Point Guard Wichita State University
Thomas Walkup G/F Stephen F. Austin State University
Jameel Warney Forward Stony Brook University
Kyle Wiltjer Forward Gonzaga

Women’s Basketball 2015-16 Candidates

Name Position School
Jillian Alleyne Forward Oregon
Ashley Beverly Kelley Guard Troy University
Imani Boyette Center University of Texas
Adut Bulgak Center Florida State University
Ruvanna Campbell Forward UIC
Cait Craft Guard Ohio State
Elisha Davis Guard Arizona State University
Aundrea Gamble Guard Arkansas State
Ruth Hamblin Center Oregon State
Nikki Hegstetter Forward The University of Alabama
Bria Holmes Guard West Virginia University
Malina Howard Center University of Maryland
Marissa Janning Guard Creighton
Moriah Jefferson Guard University of Connecticut
Chanise Jenkins Guard DePaul
Jordan Jones Point Guard Texas A&M University
Jonquel Jones Forward George Washington University
Whitney Knight Guard FGCU
Zahna Medley Guard Texas Christian University
Kelsey Minato Guard Army West Point
Tiffany Mitchell Guard University of South Carolina
Janelle Perez Guard Northwestern State University
Shereesha Richards Forward University at Albany
Raquel Scott Forward Holy Cross
Breanna Stewart Forward University of Connecticut
Rachel Theriot Point Guard Nebraska
Elle Tinkle Guard Gonzaga University
Kaylon Williams Forward University of Oklahoma
Elizabeth Wood Forward University of Maine
Michelle Woods Guard Miami (FL)