Men’s and Women’s Basketball Candidates Announced for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award

January 04, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (January 4, 2018) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, all are in excellent academic standing with 14 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Eight of this year’s candidates were 2016-17 CoSIDA Capital One Academic All-Americans®, and seven returned to the court this season after receiving All-America honors for their performances a year ago. Each of the candidates also volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

Each of the 30 candidate classes will be narrowed to fields of 10 finalists in February, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit

# # # #


Women’s Basketball 2017-18 Candidates

Name Position School
Raigyne Louis Guard LSU
Ariel Atkins Guard University of Texas
Briana Betz-White Guard Loyola University Maryland
Lexie Brown Guard Duke University
Tyra Buss Guard Indiana University
Amanda Cahill Forward Indiana University
Emily Clemens Guard Western Illinois University
Kylie Giebelhausen Guard Southern Illinois
Rebecca Greenwell Guard Duke University
Delaney Hodgins Forward Eastern Washington University
Faith Ihim Forward Oral Roberts University
Kaylee Jensen Center Oklahoma State
Jackie Kemph Point Guard Saint Louis University
Jordan Korinek Forward Kent State
Grace Lennox Guard Eastern Illinois University
Sally McCabe Center Belmont University
Brooke McCarty Guard University of Texas
Brittany McPhee Guard Stanford
Sydni Means Guard Mercer
Kia Nurse Guard UConn
Michelle Nwokedi Forward University of Pennsylvania
Vionise Pierre-Louis Center University of Oklahoma
Tianna Tarter Guard East Tennessee State University
Ellie Thompson Forward South Dakota State
Rebekah VanDijk Center UT Arlington
Victoria Vivians Guard Mississippi State
Carlie Wagner Guard University of Minnesota
Kristy Wallace Guard Baylor University
Morgan William Guard Mississippi State
Gabby Williams Forward UConn

Men’s Basketball 2017-18 Candidates

Name Position School
Grayson Allen Guard Duke University
Shawn Anderson Guard Navy
Braian Angola Guard Florida State University
Joel Berry II Point Guard University of North Carolina
Trevon Bluiett Guard Xavier University
Vladimir Brodziansky Forward TCU
Jevon Carter Guard West Virginia University
Gary Clark Forward Cincinnati
Angel Delgado Center Seton Hall University
Ben Emelogu II Guard SMU
Marcus Foster Guard Creighton
Rob Gray Guard University of Houston
Rokas Gustys Forward/Center Hofstra University
A.J. Jacobson Guard/Forward North Dakota State University
Justin Johnson Forward Western Kentucky University
Kodi Justice Guard Arizona State
Marcus Lee Forward California
Yante Maten Forward University of Georgia
Bryant McIntosh Guard Northwestern University
Jordan McLaughlin Point Guard USC
Luke Morrison Forward U.S. Military Academy
Cameron Morse Guard Youngstown State University
Albert Owens Forward Oral Roberts University
Wesley Person Guard Troy
Kahron Ross Guard Lehigh
Gerdarius Troutman Guard Florida Atlantic University
Kevin Vannatta Guard UNC Asheville
Mitchell Wilbekin Guard Wake Forest
Thomas Wilder Guard Western Michigan University
Johnathan Williams Forward Gonzaga University