Men’s and Women’s Basketball Candidates Announced for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award

November 30, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (November 30, 2018) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as candidates today for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Among the 60 candidates, all are in excellent academic standing with 13 having grade-point averages of 3.5 or higher. Twenty-five athletes are returning to the court this season after receiving All-America honors, and 54 of the candidates earned all-conference honors for their performances a year ago. Each of the candidates also volunteers his or her time with charitable organizations and causes while upholding a reputation for positive character on campus and in the community.

The men’s and women’s candidates will be narrowed to two fields of 10 finalists in February, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four C’s of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2019 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring. For more information on each of the candidates, visit

# # # #


Women’s Basketball 2018-19 Candidates

Name Position School
Kristine Anigwe Center/Forward University of California, Berkeley
Allison Arens Guard University of South Dakota
Sammie Bachrodt Guard Drake University
Cassidy Barrios Guard Nicholls State University
Allazia Blockton Guard Marquette University
Bianca Boggs Guard College of William & Mary
Kalani Brown Center Baylor University
KeKe Calloway Guard Mercer University
Bridget Carleton Guard Iowa State University
Napheesa Collier Forward University of Connecticut
Sophie Cunningham Guard University of Missouri
Asia Durr Guard University of Louisville
Mart’e Grays Forward DePaul University
Megan Gustafson Center University of Iowa
Presley Hudson Guard Central Michigan University
Megan Huff Power Forward University of Utah
Paris Kea Guard University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill
Jessica Kovatch Guard Saint Francis University
Deanna Kuzmanic Guard University of Alabama, Birmingham
Kitija Laksa Wing University of South Florida
Kennedy Leonard Guard University of Colorado
Teaira McCowan Center Mississippi State University
Macy Miller Guard South Dakota State
Teniya Page Guard Pennsylvania State University
Katie Powell Center University of Nevada, Las Vegas
Tori Schickel F/C Butler University
Alanna Smith Forward Stanford University
Hallie Thome Center University of Michigan
Brianna Turner Forward University of Notre Dame
Courtney Woods Guard/Forward Northern Illinois University

Men’s Basketball 2018-19 Candidates

Name Position School
Zach Braxton Center Weber State University
Devontae Cacok Forward University of North Carolina Wilmington
Isaac Copeland Forward University of Nebraska
Clayton Custer Guard Loyola University Chicago
Mike Daum Forward South Dakota State University
Jon Elmore Guard Marshall University
Frankie Ferrari Guard University of San Francisco
Jaire Grayer Guard George Mason University
Ethan Happ Forward University of Wisconsin
Aric Holman Forward Mississippi State University
Dwayne Lautier-Ogunleye Guard Bradley University
Kimbal Mackenzie Guard Bucknell University
Terance Mann Guard Florida State University
Luke Maye Forward University of North Carolina
Drew McDonald Forward Northern Kentucky University
Matt Morgan Guard Cornell University
Juwan Morgan Forward Indiana University
Trey Moses Center Ball State University
Zane Najdawi Forward The Citadel
Michael Nzei Forward Seton Hall University
Josh Perkins Guard Gonzaga University
Trey Phills Guard Yale University
Paul Rowley Forward The College of William & Mary
Tyler Seibring Forward Elon University
TJ Shorts II Guard University of California, Davis
Chris Silva Forward University of South Carolina
Lance Tejada Guard Lehigh University
Reid Travis Forward University of Kentucky
Dylan Windler Guard/Forward Belmont University
Justin Wright-Foreman Guard Hofstra University