Men’s and Women’s Basketball Candidates Announced for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award

December 07, 2021

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (December 7, 2021) – 60 NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes, who excel both on and off the court, were selected as candidates today for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School ®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The men’s and women’s candidates will be narrowed to two fields of ten finalists later in the season, and those names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will then select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four C’s of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four® this spring.

For more information on the candidates, please visit

# # #

Women’s Basketball 2021-22 Candidates

Name Position School
Shakira Austin C Ole Miss
Katie Benzan G Maryland
Grace Berger G Indiana
Conley Chinn F Belmont
Elissa Cunane C NC State
Andra Espinoza-Hunter G/F Seton Hall
Dru Gylten G Utah
Gabi Haack G Bradley
Sara Hamson C BYU
Lauren Heard G TCU
Lexi Held G DePaul
Destanni Henderson G South Carolina
Naz Hillmon F Michigan
Rhyne Howard G Kentucky
Lexie Hull G Stanford
Tylee Irwin F South Dakota State
Morgan Jones G Florida State
Dorka Juhász F UConn
Lotta-Maj Lahtinen G Georgia Tech
Jordan Lewis G Baylor
Sonya Morris G DePaul
Olivia Nelson-Ododa F UConn
Ali Patberg G Indiana
Aisha Sheppard G Virginia Tech
NaLyssa Smith F Baylor
Sam Thomas F Arizona
Lauren Van Kleunen F Marquette
Abby Wahl F/C Eastern Illinois
Macee Williams F/C IUPUI
Christyn Williams G UConn

Men’s Basketball 2021-22 Candidates

Name Position School
Alex Barcello G BYU
Evan Battey F Colorado
Jules Bernard G UCLA
Buddy Boeheim G Syracuse
Eli Brooks G Michigan
Garrison Brooks F Mississippi State
Brad Davison G Wisconsin
Anthony Duruji F Florida
Trent Frazier G Illinois
John Fulkerson F Tennessee
Jacob Gilyard G Richmond
Tanner Groves F/C Oklahoma
Tate Hall G/F Loyola Chicago
Ron Harper Jr. G/F Rutgers
John Harrar F Penn State
Ryan Hawkins F Creighton
ShanQuan Hemphill F Drake
Myles Johnson C UCLA
Jarkel Joiner G Ole Miss
Gavin Kensmil F Stephen F. Austin
Isaac Likekele G Oklahoma State
Kameron McGusty G Miami
Alex Morales G Wagner
Justyn Mutts F Virginia Tech
Austin Phyfe F Northern Iowa
D’Shawn Schwartz G/F George Mason
Eli Scott G/F Loyola Marymount
Sasha Stefanovic G Purdue
Hunter Tyson F Clemson
Lucas Williamson G Loyola Chicago