Men’s and women’s basketball finalists announced for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award

February 06, 2013


OVERLAND PARK, KS – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School,® the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by a media committee from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in October. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website or on the Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through March 25. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.

The men’s Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2013 NCAA Final Four® in Atlanta April 6 and 8, while the women’s winner will be announced during the NCAA Women’s Final Four® in New Orleans April 7 and 9.

DI Men’s Basketball 2012-13 Finalists

Name Position School
Matthew Dellavedova Guard Saint Mary's
Mike Groselle Center The Citadel
Jordan Hulls Guard Indiana
Jonathan Lee Guard Northeastern
C.J.  McCollum Guard Lehigh
Mike Muscala Center Bucknell
Mason Plumlee Forward Duke
Peyton Siva Guard Louisville
Andrew Smith Center Butler
Marc Trasolini Forward Santa Clara

DI Women’s Basketball 2012-13 Finalists

Name Position School
Brittany Chambers Guard Kansas State
Layshia Clarendon Guard California
Elena Delle Donne Guard/Forward Delaware
Skylar Diggins Guard Notre Dame
Jacqui Kalin Guard Northern Iowa
Kevi Luper Guard Oral Roberts
Anna Martin Guard DePaul
Drey Mingo Forward Purdue
Chelsea Poppens Forward Iowa State
Jaime Printy Guard Iowa