Men’s and Women’s Basketball Finalists Announced for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award

February 15, 2017

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 14, 2017) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2016-17 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 20. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2017 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # # #

Women’s Basketball 2016-17 Finalists

Name Position School
Lindsay Allen Guard Notre Dame
Nina Davis Forward Baylor University
Brionna Jones Center Maryland
Erica McCall Forward Stanford
Adrienne Motley Guard University of Miami
Kelsey Plum Guard University of Washington
Leticia Romero Point Guard Florida State University
Shatori Walker-Kimbrough Guard Maryland
Lizzy Wendell Forward Drake University
Sydney Wiese Guard Oregon State

Men’s Basketball 2016-17 Finalists

Name Position School
Jaron Blossomgame Forward Clemson
Evan Bradds Forward Belmont
Josh Hart Guard Villanova University
Josh Hawkinson Forward Washington State University
Nigel Hayes Forward Wisconsin
Amile Jefferson Forward Duke University
Peter Jok Guard Iowa
Przemek Karnowski Center Gonzaga University
Tim Kempton Center Lehigh University
Frank Mason III Guard University of Kansas