Men’s and women’s basketball finalists announced for the 2016 Senior CLASS Award

February 18, 2016

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 18, 2016) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2015-16 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 21. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2016 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

# # #


Men’s Basketball 2015-16 Finalists

Name Position School
Ryan Arcidiacono Guard Villanova
Malcolm Brogdon Guard University of Virginia
Perry Ellis Forward University of Kansas
Buddy Hield Guard University of Oklahoma
Georges Niang Forward Iowa State University
Marcus Paige Guard University of North Carolina
Justin Sears Forward Yale University
Denzel Valentine Guard Michigan State
Fred VanVleet Point Guard Wichita State University
Kyle Wiltjer Forward Gonzaga

Women’s Basketball 2015-16 Finalists

Name Position School
Jillian Alleyne Forward Oregon
Adut Bulgak Center Florida State University
Aundrea Gamble Guard Arkansas State
Ruth Hamblin Center Oregon State
Bria Holmes Guard West Virginia University
Moriah Jefferson Guard University of Connecticut
Jonquel Jones Forward George Washington University
Kelsey Minato Guard Army West Point
Tiffany Mitchell Guard University of South Carolina
Breanna Stewart Forward University of Connecticut