Men’s and Women’s Basketball Finalists Announced for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award

February 08, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 8, 2018) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced in January. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 19. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

# # # #

Women’s Basketball 2017-18 Finalists

Name Position School
Ariel Atkins Guard University of Texas
Lexie Brown Guard Duke University
Tyra Buss Guard Indiana University
Emily Clemens Guard Western Illinois University
Rebecca Greenwell Guard Duke University
Delaney Hodgins Forward Eastern Washington University
Kaylee Jensen Center Oklahoma State
Jackie Kemph Point Guard Saint Louis University
Victoria Vivians Guard Mississippi State
Gabby Williams Forward UConn

Men’s Basketball 2017-18 Finalists

Name Position School
Shawn Anderson Guard Navy
Vladimir Brodziansky Forward TCU
Jevon Carter Guard West Virginia University
Angel Delgado Center Seton Hall University
Rob Gray Guard University of Houston
A.J. Jacobson Guard/Forward North Dakota State University
Justin Johnson Forward Western Kentucky University
Yante Maten Forward University of Georgia
Luke Morrison Forward U.S. Military Academy
Johnathan Williams Forward Gonzaga University