Men’s and Women’s Basketball Finalists Announced for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award

February 06, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 6, 2019) – Twenty NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2018-19 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate basketball. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 25. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2019 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # # #

Women’s Basketball 2018-19 Finalists

Name Position School
Kristine Anigwe Center/Forward University of California, Berkeley
Allazia Blockton Guard Marquette University
Kalani Brown Center Baylor University
Bridget Carleton Guard Iowa State University
Asia Durr Guard University of Louisville
Megan Gustafson Center University of Iowa
Jessica Kovatch Guard Saint Francis University
Teaira McCowan Center Mississippi State University
Alanna Smith Forward Stanford University
Brianna Turner Forward University of Notre Dame

Men’s Basketball 2018-19 Finalists

Name Position School
Clayton Custer Guard Loyola University Chicago
Mike Daum Forward South Dakota State University
Jon Elmore Guard Marshall University
Ethan Happ Forward University of Wisconsin
Luke Maye Forward University of North Carolina
Drew McDonald Forward Northern Kentucky University
Josh Perkins Guard Gonzaga University
Reid Travis Forward University of Kentucky
Dylan Windler Guard/Forward Belmont University
Justin Wright-Foreman Guard Hofstra University