Men’s and Women’s Basketball Finalists Announced for the 2019-20 Senior CLASS Award

February 05, 2020

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 5, 2020) – Twenty-one NCAA® men’s and women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court were selected as finalists today for the 2019-20 Senior CLASS Award®. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of 30 men’s candidates and 30 women’s candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 23. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2020 NCAA Men’s Final Four® and NCAA Women’s Final Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # # #


Women’s Basketball 2019-20 Finalists

Name Position School
Chelsea Brackmann Forward Bradley
Kaila Charles Forward University of Maryland
Lauren Cox Forward Baylor
Bailey Greenberg Forward Drexel University
Ellie Harmeyer Forward Belmont
Ruthy Hebard Forward Oregon
Sabrina Ionescu Guard Oregon
Stella Johnson Guard Rider University
Mikayla Pivec Guard Oregon State University
Peyton Williams Forward Kansas State
Brenna Wise Forward Indiana University

Men’s Basketball 2019-20 Finalists

Name Position School
Udoka Azubuike Center University of Kansas
Yoeli Childs Forward BYU
James Foye Guard Dartmouth College
Markus Howard Guard Marquette University
Nathan Knight Center William & Mary
Skylar Mays Guard LSU
Sam Merrill Guard Utah State
Myles Powell Guard Seton Hall University
Lamar Stevens Forward Penn State
Cassius Winston Guard Michigan State University