Men’s and Women’s Soccer Candidates Announced for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award

September 23, 2019

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (September 23, 2019) – Sixty NCAA® men’s and women’s soccer student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2019 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate soccer. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of candidates follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Each of the 60 candidates has displayed a strong work ethic in the classroom and on the pitch. Outside of academics and athletics, all candidates also have been consistently involved in community service on their campus or in their communities.

Each of the two candidate classes will be narrowed to 10 finalists midway through the regular season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one male candidate and one female candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition. ?

The Senior CLASS Award winners will be announced during the 2019 NCAA Men’s and Women’s College Cup® championships in December.

# # # #


Men’s Soccer 2019 Candidates

Name Position School
Adrien Awana Defense Manhattan College
Tanner Beason Defender Stanford
Gideon Betz Defender Campbell University
Drake Callender Goalkeeper California
Kyle Clinton Defense Georgia State
Jack Doherty Forward New Hampshire
Anders Engebretsen Forward Saint Mary's College
Alec Felix Midfielder Utah Valley University
Dayonn Harris Forward UConn
Skye Harter Midfield University of Akron
Cal Jennings Forward University of Central Florida
Alistair Johnston Defender Wake Forest University
Nick King Midfielder Bucknell
Luke Matthews Defender Elon University
Garrett McLaughlin Forward Southern Methodist University
Aaron Molloy Midfield Pennsylvania State University
Malcolm Moreno Defender Iona College
Anthony Mwembia Goalkeeper Bowling Green
Elliot Panicco Goalkeeper Charlotte
Mauricio Pineda Midfielder/Defender North Carolina
Paulo Pita Goalkeeper Marshall University
Ben Roberts Defender University of Memphis
Samson Sergi Forward Xavier
Jack Skahan North Carolina
Will Smith Goalkeeper Lehigh
Rok Taneski Midfielder University of Dayton
Noah Texter Goalkeeper California
Pedro Valladao Midfielder IUPUI
Derek Waldeck Midfielder Stanford
Garret Weaver Defender University of Detroit Mercy

Women’s Soccer 2019 Candidates

Name Position School
Kristen Amarikwa Defender San Jose State University
Abby Carchio Midfielder Brown University
Katie Cousins Midfielder Tennessee
Kaylee Dao Forward/Midfielder University of Oklahoma
Kaylee Davis Forward Texas State University
Kate Del Fava Midfielder Illinois State University
Samantha Dewey Midfielder/Forward Xavier University
Serena Dolan Midfield University of Memphis
Taylor Dorado Goalkeeper Siena College
Jessie Fleming Midfielder UCLA
Sydney Fortson Goalkeeper U.S. Naval Academy
Paula Germino-Watnick Forward Georgetown University
Andrea Hauksdottir Midfielder South Florida
Kelcie Hedge Midfield Santa Clara University
Noelle Higginson Midfield Yale University
Cyera Hintzen Forward Texas
Grace Jackson Midfielder Vanderbilt University
Taryn Jakubowski M Creighton
Jess Johnson Defense Monmouth University
Aleah Kelley Defender University of California Irvine
Maureen Kennedy Defender Bowling Green
Alli Klug Defender Saint Louis University
Heather Martin Goalkeeper Texas State University
Mandy McGlynn Goalkeeper Virginia Tech
Sinclaire Miramontez Defender Nebraska
Meaghan Nally Defense Georgetown University
Sarah Segan F William & Mary
Abby Small Defender Kansas City
Evelyne Viens Forward South Florida
Ally Watt Forward Texas A&M