Men’s Hockey Finalists Announced for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award

February 16, 2018

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (February 16, 2018) – Ten NCAA® men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists today for the 2017-18 Senior CLASS Award® in collegiate hockey. To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as NCAA Division I seniors and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

The finalists were chosen by national media from the list of candidates announced in the fall. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 26. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners. The Senior CLASS Award recipients will be announced during the 2018 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four®.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # # #

Hockey 2017-18 Finalists

Name Position School
Dylan Abood Defenseman Air Force
Michael Bitzer Goaltender Bemidji State
Jake Evans Forward Notre Dame
Brady Ferguson Forward Robert Morris
Karson Kuhlman Forward Minnesota Duluth
Mitch McLain Forward Bowling Green
Judd Peterson Forward St. Cloud State
Sam Piazza Defenseman Michigan
Austin Poganski Forward North Dakota
Ryan Schmelzer Forward Canisius