Men’s Ice Hockey Finalists Announced for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award

March 07, 2022

Download in PDF format

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. (March 7, 2022) – Ten NCAA® men’s hockey student-athletes who excel both on and off the ice were selected as finalists today for the 2021-22 Senior CLASS Award®.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior or graduate student and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character, and competition. The complete list of finalists follows this release.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their athletic platforms to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities. 

The finalists were chosen by a selection committee from the list of 20 candidates announced earlier in the season. Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner, and fans are encouraged to submit votes online at the Senior CLASS Award website through March 28. Fan votes will be combined with those of the media and Division I head coaches to determine the winners.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2022 NCAA Men’s Frozen Four® in April.

For more information on each of the finalists, visit

# # #

Hockey 2021-22 Finalists

Name Position School
Nick Blankenburg D Michigan
Wyatt Bongiovanni F Quinnipiac
Zach Driscoll G North Dakota
Quinn Preston F Ohio State
Will Riedell D Ohio State
Graham Slaggert F Notre Dame
Spencer Stastney D Notre Dame
Colin Theisen F Arizona State
Sammy Walker F Minnesota
Taylor Ward F Omaha